NMEAC awards

NMEACFriday night, The Northern Michigan Environmental Action Council (NMEAC) held their 23rd Annual Environmentalist of the Year Awards and Celebration at the Park Place Dome in Traverse City t. Highlights included the availability of local organic foods as well as a keynote address given by Derek Bailey, Chairman of the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians.

Here are local winners:

  1. Friends of the Dam Beach – Grass Roots Group
  2. Leslie Lee – John Nelson Water Steward Award

In addition, local nominees in other categories were Royce Ragland and Jake Keske. (Source: Email from NMEAC)


About elkrapidslive

More than a lifelong connection to Elk Rapids
This entry was posted in Environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s